Ryan Murphy
Completing a procedural move that they set into motion one day earlier, the Carolina Hurricanes officially recalled defenseman Ryan Murphy on Tuesday evening.

According to multiple reports, Murphy, the Hurricanes’ top defensive prospect who concluded last season in Charlotte, came to the Checkers as a way of alleviating salary cap concerns in Carolina. The 20-year-old was not at Tuesday’s practice at Extreme Ice Center in Indian Trail, further supporting that point.

Murphy’s recall gives Carolina a total of eight defensemen, though it will be without at least one of theirs in Tim Gleason, who is out indefinitely with a concussion. Should Matt Corrente clear waivers after the Hurricanes placed him there Tuesday, the Checkers would also have eight.

Along with Elias Lindholm, the Hurricanes’ most recent first-round draft pick, Murphy is one of three players on Carolina’s roster that does not require waivers to freely pass between the NHL and AHL. Justin Faulk, a former Checkers who has almost certainly played his last AHL game, is the third.
Paul Branecky
Author: Paul BraneckyEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
The Checkers' vice president of communications, Paul Branecky has been covering hockey in North Carolina since 2006, including five seasons with the Carolina Hurricanes.

February 2017
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1
2
3
09:05 PM
Date :  Friday, February 03
4
09:05 PM
Date :  Saturday, February 04
5
6
7
8
9
10
07:15 PM
Date :  Friday, February 10
11
06:00 PM
Date :  Saturday, February 11
12
13
14
15
16
17
08:00 PM
Date :  Friday, February 17
18
08:00 PM
Date :  Saturday, February 18
19
04:00 PM
Date :  Sunday, February 19
20
21
22
23
24
07:15 PM
Date :  Friday, February 24
25
06:00 PM
Date :  Saturday, February 25
26
27
28
07:00 PM
Date :  Tuesday, February 28
Online Merchandise Special