Matt Corrente
Matt Corrente has cleared waivers, allowing the Carolina Hurricanes to officially assign him to Charlotte.

A 25-year-old defenseman who has also played at forward, Corrente is expected to join the Checkers for Thursday’s practice – their last before departing to begin the regular season in Oklahoma City for games on Friday and Saturday. The 2006 first-round draft pick spent his entire career in the New Jersey Devils organization prior to this season, playing each of the last two campaigns with AHL Albany.

Coach Jeff Daniels said that Corrente (6-foot-0, 205 pounds) will play his primary position with the Checkers, giving the team another experienced blueliner along with Mark Flood, Michal Jordan and Rasmus Rissanen.

“From talking to him, he’s a leader and a great team guy,” said Daniels. “He keeps the other team honest and he’s strong in front of the net.”

With injuries limiting him to just 50 total games over the last two seasons, including 11 last season, Corrente is now set to play his first regular-season game at any level since Dec. 9. A rugged player, he has posted 350 penalty minutes in 163 career AHL games.

Corrente gives the Checkers eight defensemen on their roster – two more than they are likely to dress in Oklahoma City. The team now has 25 total players at training camp, though Daniels said that he expected to make “a couple” of cuts on Wednesday.
Paul Branecky
Author: Paul BraneckyEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
The Checkers' vice president of communications, Paul Branecky has been covering hockey in North Carolina since 2006, including five seasons with the Carolina Hurricanes.

January 2017
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1
03:00 PM
Date :  Sunday, January 01
2
3
08:00 PM
Date :  Tuesday, January 03
4
5
6
07:00 PM
Date :  Friday, January 06
7
08:00 PM
Date :  Saturday, January 07
8
9
10
08:00 PM
Date :  Tuesday, January 10
11
12
13
07:15 PM
Date :  Friday, January 13
14
06:00 PM
Date :  Saturday, January 14
15
16
17
07:00 PM
Date :  Tuesday, January 17
18
07:00 PM
Date :  Wednesday, January 18
19
20
21
06:00 PM
Date :  Saturday, January 21
22
01:00 PM
Date :  Sunday, January 22
23
24
25
26
27
07:15 PM
Date :  Friday, January 27
28
06:00 PM
Date :  Saturday, January 28
29
30
31