Senior Director of Corporate Partnerships

bwilkie@gocheckers.com | (704) 444-1872

Buzz Wilkie
Wilkie, who joined the Checkers in 2013 as director of corporate sponsorships, is no stranger to the sports world.  Prior to joining the Checkers, he worked for the Carolina Hurricanes, Orlando Magic and International Speedway Corporation, working primarily in business development and key account management roles. Buzz has worked alongside many large companies including Coca-Cola, Toyota, General Mills, Texas Instruments and Black and Decker, helping them develop strategies to activate their sponsorships within NASCAR, NHL and the NBA.

He is a very passionate sports fan and loves the Dallas Cowboys, Boston Red Sox, Carolina Hurricanes and, of course, the Charlotte Checkers. Buzz resides in Huntersville, N.C., with his wife Farrah and their four kids.

Profile

Hometown Good question. I have lived in eight different states in my life, five before I turned 16. Can't say I really have a town I would call home, but Charlotte is awesome!!
College and major Elon University (THE Real U) - Corporate Communications/Business
As a kid, you dreamed of becoming: A professional athlete, until I realized at about 15 that was never going to happen, so I decided on the next best thing, selling and marketing, what I love
Name one thing on your bucket list To be a part of a championship-winning team!
Favorite food My mother's spare ribs and my grandmother's homemade chicken
Favorite movie “Remember the Titans,” “Hoosiers,” and “Miracle"
Favorite pro/college sports team Dallas Cowboys, Boston Red Sox, Carolina Hurricanes and the Charlotte Checkers
Favorite type of music I like all music
Favorite band Well since I like all music, I can't really say I have a favorite, but I do love the 80's!!
Favorite book Anything Sports Marketing related. I love learning new ideas from other people.
Fun fact I have traveled to 40 of the 50 states in the U.S. and 15 international countries
January 2017
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1
03:00 PM
Date :  Sunday, January 01
2
3
08:00 PM
Date :  Tuesday, January 03
4
5
6
07:00 PM
Date :  Friday, January 06
7
08:00 PM
Date :  Saturday, January 07
8
9
10
08:00 PM
Date :  Tuesday, January 10
11
12
13
07:15 PM
Date :  Friday, January 13
14
06:00 PM
Date :  Saturday, January 14
15
16
17
07:00 PM
Date :  Tuesday, January 17
18
07:00 PM
Date :  Wednesday, January 18
19
20
21
06:00 PM
Date :  Saturday, January 21
22
01:00 PM
Date :  Sunday, January 22
23
24
25
26
27
07:15 PM
Date :  Friday, January 27
28
06:00 PM
Date :  Saturday, January 28
29
30
31