The Checkers are getting a piece of their blue line back as the Hurricanes have assigned Roland McKeown to Charlotte.

Presented by Hometrust Bank
The second-year pro skated for Carolina on Sunday against Vegas, setting an NHL career high with nearly 15 minutes of ice time. McKeown, who made his NHL debut earlier this season, now has two assists in three games for the Hurricanes this season.

McKeown, who missed both of Charlotte’s contests against Rochester over the weekend, ranks third among Checkers’ blue liners with 13 points (3g, 10a), a total that has already surpassed his output as a rookie. The 22-year-old is also tied for fourth in the AHL with a plus-23 rating.

Additionally, the Checkers have assigned forward Mitchell Heard to the ECHL’s Florida Everblades. Heard was a healthy extra in both of Charlotte’s games over the weekend.

Coming off a split series against the Americans, the Checkers are preparing for a two-game set in Hartford this coming weekend before heading into the All-Star break.
Nicholas Niedzielski
Author: Nicholas NiedzielskiEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Director of Communications Nicholas Niedzielski joined the Checkers in the summer of 2014. A Texas native, he previously worked for the AHL's Texas Stars.

February 2018
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1
2
07:05 PM
Date :  Friday, February 02
3
07:00 PM
Date :  Saturday, February 03
4
02:00 PM
Date :  Sunday, February 04
5
6
7
07:05 PM
Date :  Wednesday, February 07
8
9
07:15 PM
Date :  Friday, February 09
10
06:00 PM
Date :  Saturday, February 10
11
12
13
07:00 PM
Date :  Tuesday, February 13
14
07:00 PM
Date :  Wednesday, February 14
15
16
17
06:00 PM
Date :  Saturday, February 17
18
03:00 PM
Date :  Sunday, February 18
19
20
21
22
23
07:05 PM
Date :  Friday, February 23
24
07:00 PM
Date :  Saturday, February 24
25
03:00 PM
Date :  Sunday, February 25
26
27
28