After last night’s shutout loss, the Checkers’ offense exploded in the rematch against Toronto, rolling to a 6-4 victory.

For the first time this season Charlotte was able to get on the board first, pumping in a pair of goals in the opening frame. The Marlies erased that advantage over the next period and a half, however, notching three unanswered tallies and forcing the Checkers to once again play from behind.

But almost immediately following Toronto’s third goal, Jake Chelios connected on a point blast to even the score and the Charlotte offense came to life. The Checkers connected on consecutive power plays, of which they had seven on the night, then squashed the Marlies rally attempt with a long-distance empty netter to clinch their revenge on the home squad.

Alex Nedeljkovic made 28 stops, including denying all 13 shots he faced in the opening frame, to improve to 4-0-0 this season.

NOTES

Nicolas Roy’s goal was his first as a pro … Lucas Wallmark currently leads the league in scoring and has recorded multiple points in four of seven games this season … Valentin Zykov set a career high with four points on the night … Charlotte’s 37 shots on goal are the most by the team this season … The Checkers have not lost consecutive games this season … Trevor Carrick did not return for the second and third periods due to injury … Brenden Kichton, Aleksi Saarela and Julien Gauthier all missed the game due to injury … Mike Ferrantino and Tyler Ganly served as healthy scratches
Nicholas Niedzielski
Author: Nicholas NiedzielskiEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Director of Communications Nicholas Niedzielski joined the Checkers in the summer of 2014. A Texas native, he previously worked for the AHL's Texas Stars.

November 2017
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1
2
3
07:00 PM
Date :  Friday, November 03
4
07:00 PM
Date :  Saturday, November 04
5
6
7
8
07:00 PM
Date :  Wednesday, November 08
9
10
07:00 PM
Date :  Friday, November 10
11
07:00 PM
Date :  Saturday, November 11
12
13
14
15
10:30 AM
Date :  Wednesday, November 15
16
17
07:05 PM
Date :  Friday, November 17
18
07:00 PM
Date :  Saturday, November 18
19
20
21
07:00 PM
Date :  Tuesday, November 21
22
07:00 PM
Date :  Wednesday, November 22
23
24
25
06:00 PM
Date :  Saturday, November 25
26
01:00 PM
Date :  Sunday, November 26
27
28
29
30